Statement of Purpose

The Mountain Lake Vegetation Management Council was organized in 1955 and incorporated as a non-profit research and education group in 1967 in the Commonwealth of Virginia under chapter 2 of title 13.1 of the code of Virginia. The purpose of Mountain Lake, as stated in the by laws, are:

To promote improvement in the rights-of-way management, in particular, to encourage the further study and research in ecologically sound and aesthetic vegetation control and management, to analyze and disseminate information relating thereto, to encourage cooperation with other organizations whose interests parallel or complement those in this Council, and to represent the judgment of this organization in the matters of policy which affects rights-of-way.

The Council, with direction from a Board of Directors and it's membership, has endeavored to fulfill these guidelines through research studies on improved methods of vegetation control on rights-of-way. In addition, the Council has acted as an advisory group to federal, state, and local agencies that have promulgated legislation affecting proper vegetation maintenance. The governing body has also intervened in cases where misleading or incorrect information could cause the industry to sustain severe penalties.

These activities are made possible by support and contributions from utility companies, chemical manufacturing and distribution firms, contractors, applicators, state highway departments, universities, and the US government.

By-Laws [PDF]

Board of Directors

President:  Brandon Dunlap,  brandon.dunlap@corteva.com

Vice President:  Ben Bradburn, bnbradburn@aep.com

Secretary:  Koby Cutchall, kcutchall@arborchem.com

Treasurers: Adam Warf, awarf@eci-consulting.com

                      Ed Cunningham, ed@treepriorities.com

Other Board Members

Phil Brumbaugh,  pbrumbaugh@firstenergycorp.com

Charlie Smyth, Charles.smyth@nutrien.com

Dustin Rhoades, dustin.rhoades@davey.com

Matt Sink, mssink@aep.com

Justin Mease, jlmease2@pplweb.com

Michael Kirk, michale.h.kirk@dominionenergy.com

Pat O’Connor, poconnor1@asplundh.com

Sam Vaughan, sam.vaughan@dominionenergy.com

Scott Eikenbary, scott.eikenbary@davey.com

Steve Feggeler, sffeggeler@aep.com

Todd Hagenbuch, thagenbuch@arborchem.com

Travis Rinninger,  travisrininger@gmail.com